Frequently Asked Questions

Feature documentation

Who are you, and what is Ditto?

Take a look at the About page for an overview of the what and the why of Ditto

Ditto is a tool for copying Asana projects between workspaces. It is developed by Mike Houston, a software developer in York in the UK.

Which account should I use with Ditto

In order to have permission to create projects, the account you use with Ditto must be a full user in the destination workspace or organisation.

This means that you should add the destination user as a Guest to the source workspace, which will allow Ditto to successfully process transfers.

You may need to fully log out of Asana and Ditto before logging back in to the correct account if you have previously authorised access for Ditto to the source account.

Are there any details of projects or tasks that Ditto can't copy?

There's a table of supported features

Some features of the Asana web app are not available through the API, and can't be copied. Currently the most obviously missing feature is recurring tasks.

How can I close my Ditto account?

Ditto doesn't keep much information around after you've used it, and doesn't keep a copy of your credentials for accessing Asana after queued transfers are complete.

To ensure that there is no possible way for Ditto to access your account in future, you can deauthorize Ditto by going to 'My Profile Settings' in Asana, and removing Ditto on the 'Apps' tab.

Screenshot of the Asana 'Apps' configuration tab

If you have created a Pro account and wish to remove it, please email [email protected] with your Asana account ID, which can be found on the account page

Which data do you collect?

Take a look at the privacy policy for full details

Ditto communicates with Asana's service via the API. It only reads data in direct response to user interaction or as a result of a user's approval for ongoing access. Only data required for the operation of the service is requested.

Data retrieved from the API includes, but is not limited to, lists of projects, users, tasks, comments and attachments.

Do you store any data?

Take a look at the privacy policy for full details

Local storage

Ditto stores a single cookie 'ditto' containing the encrypted state of your user session. This information is required for the service to operate, and stores your authorization credentials for the Asana API.

You can revoke Ditto's access at any time from the Asana settings for your account.

Data stored on servers

During a transfer operation, the user's authorization credentials for the Asana API are stored on our servers. They are removed when the job completes or has failed, and expire from the service after 24 hours in case of any other error preventing their immediate removal.

Data collected for the operation of the service is automatically cleared after 36 hours. It may be manually removed from the web interface at any time by the user.

Logs of transfer operations are retained for debugging purposes for 30 days, after which they are automatically cleared. The logs do not contain personally identifiable information, but do record the IDs of some records being copied.

Anonymized (hashed) IDs are retained to track usage of the service.

Do you share any data with third parties?

Take a look at the privacy policy for full details

No data you give us or that is collected from your authorized Asana account is ever shared with third parties, except when it is sent back to Asana.

Data collected from Asana is stored temporarily on our servers, which are provided by Amazon Web Services in the us-east-1 region (North Virginia, USA).

Discuss this page

Log in to comment

Michael Houston - 08 Nov 20 20:05 UTC

Hi Samuel,

If you can drop me an email at [email protected]r.net with your Asana account ID, I’ll take a look and see what might be causing the issues you’re seeing.

Samuel Artmann - 08 Nov 20 19:51 UTC

I am getting a connection error when trying to transfer data from an account that is under SSO (Okta) even though I am logged into the relevant accounts. Is there a way to make that work?

Michael Houston - 30 Sep 20 18:48 UTC

Hi Lavonne, Please email [email protected] with the ID of the failed transfer (from the address bar) and I’ll look in to what’s going wrong.

Lavonne Kipp - 30 Sep 20 15:56 UTC

I have tried and tried to copy a project. Finally paid for it to see if that was the trick. Then I get this…

Errors

Retries exceeded for batch 0

please help!

Michael Houston - 28 Sep 20 18:50 UTC

Hi Scott,

The 402 payment required error is shown by Asana when you are trying to create a project in a workspace where you are a guest, or are using a premium feature in a free workspace.

In this case can you check that when using Ditto you are logged in to Asana with an account which is a full member of the destination workspace? You can add that member as a guest to the source workspace in order to copy between accounts.

If I can help coordinate this setup process please email me at [email protected] and I’ll be able to help work out what’s going on.

Thanks, Mike

Scott Lyman - 28 Sep 20 18:10 UTC

I’m getting a 402 payment required error when trying to transfer a project, I’ve already upgraded to Pro. Why am I receiving this error?

Anonymous - 28 Sep 20 18:10 UTC

I’m getting a 402 payment required error when trying to transfer a project, I’ve already upgraded to Pro. Why am I receiving this error?

Anonymous - 28 Sep 20 18:09 UTC

I’m getting the 402 payment required error after I’ve paid for this service, any reason why?

Anonymous - 28 Sep 20 18:09 UTC

I’m getting the 402 payment required error after I’ve paid for this service, any reason why?

Michael Houston - 07 Aug 20 09:59 UTC

Anonymous on 25/Jun:

In order for both old and new workspaces to be visible, you need to be:

  • Logged in to the new account
  • The new account needs to be a guest member of the old workspace

Hopefully that solves your problem if you hadn’t already got it working.

Michael Houston - 07 Aug 20 09:57 UTC

Hi Sally, When you say it’s linking back to your old account, what do you mean? In order to log in to Ditto with a new Asana account, you probably need to log out of Asana first since the login process will just jump you straight in to Ditto with whichever account is logged in if you have previously authenticated it with Ditto.

Sorry I missed your earlier comment Elisse: If a user is not present in the destination, then any task assignments for that user will not be set on the transferred tasks. The warning about missing enum values means that there is a custom field with the same name in the destination workspace, but it doesn’t have a selectable option matching the value in the source task. In this case, the Status custom field is missing a ‘Needs Discussion’ option.

If there are further questions you can get in touch directly at [email protected]

Sally Dorfman - 06 Aug 20 15:37 UTC

I want to transfer all the projects from my old account into a new account (new job, previous boss retired) and it keeps linking me back to my old account

Anonymous - 25 Jun 20 13:04 UTC

I can see the workspace from but the workspace to shows as the same despite being logged into both Asana accounts to transfer from and to

Elisse Thurston - 22 Jun 20 23:44 UTC

If I don’t set up one-to-one users in the destination workspace, what does that do to the data when transferred over? What does this warning mean? “No matching custom field enum value in destination workspace for: “Status”: Needs Discussion

Anonymous - 22 Jun 20 23:44 UTC

If I don’t set up one-to-one users in the destination workspace, what does that do to the data when transferred over? What does this warning mean? “No matching custom field enum value in destination workspace for: “Status”: Needs Discussion

Anonymous - 22 Jun 20 23:44 UTC

If I don’t set up one-to-one users in the destination workspace, what does that do to the data when transferred over? What does this warning mean? “No matching custom field enum value in destination workspace for: “Status”: Needs Discussion

Anonymous - 22 Jun 20 23:44 UTC

If I don’t set up one-to-one users in the destination workspace, what does that do to the data when transferred over? What does this warning mean? “No matching custom field enum value in destination workspace for: “Status”: Needs Discussion

Michael Houston - 12 Jun 20 06:52 UTC

Hi Burroughs, To transfer between domains, the easiest way is to add your user account from the destination organisation as a guest to the source organisation. If you log in with that account to DItto, you should then be able to see projects from both domains and create new projects in the destination domain.

Burroughs Blind - 11 Jun 20 19:23 UTC

How can I transfer a project from one domain to another?

Michael Houston - 02 Jun 20 19:48 UTC

Hi Brock, at the moment Ditto copies everything, but I am hoping to have customisable copies working soon.